Tavce Gravce of Macedonia

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 11.25.09 AM.png

When I initially started this project, there was one thought of fear that came to my mind: What if the meal is simply something I just don’t like? I am good at trying new kinds of food, and I am not that picky of an eater, but there are certain foods that one feels cautious  about or outright disgusted by.

This was not that dish for me, but for Spencer. He does not like beans at all, and that is what Tavce Gravce is: baked beans. Admittedly, baked beans isn’t number one on my list, but I was going to follow through with the project.

The first time I tried making it, I burnt the beans (Spencer was thrilled.) The second time I also made serious mistakes. You can tell by the picture is looks more like soup, less like beans in a delicious paprika coating. I do not cook with beans often, and when I do, it’s black beans or garbanzo from the can. So naturally, I used Great Northern beans from a can, and overcooked them in the process. This created a mushy, oily dish that I could only take a few bites of (Spencer, zero).

So to the people of Macedonia, I apologize for completely destroying this beloved dish of yours. If anyone decides to take a stab at it, let me know!

Ingredient List

  • Great Northern beans
  • Canola oil
  • Onion, quartered
  • 2 dried, whole chili peppers
  • Salt
  • Another onion, sliced in rounds to place on top
  • Paprika

Quick Quotes

Take One:

  • Spencer: “YAY!”
  • Teresa: “NO”

Take Two:

  • Teresa: “Overcooked beans and left too much liquid in pan for cooking in the oven, but paprika flavor is good.”
  • Spencer: “…”

Trivial Trifles

  • The capital of Macedonia is Skopje
  • The official language is Macedonian
  • It is one of the successor states from the former Yugoslavia, and declared independence from it in 1991
  • Lake Ohrid, along its southern border, is considered one of the oldest lakes and biotopes in the world
Leave a Reply

