Bryndzové halusky of Slovakia

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 7.24.22 PM.png

This was a memorable undertaking for a very specific reason: the cheese.

Bryndza is a type of cheese made exclusively in the Slovakian region of the world. Well, almost exclusively. I was dying to get the real stuff and found a Slovakian restaurant/market online. They are based in New York City, but I could order the cheese online and have it shipped refrigerated all the way to Tucson, Arizona. I bit the bullet. I have, and never will, spend that much money on cheese ever again (maybe).

Sadly, this story does not have a happy ending… yes, through a series of unfortunate events I did not get the cheese. I was unaware that it had arrived. As I waited for weeks for this very special package, it did not come to my doorstep. It sat in a mailbox that I didn’t realize existed. This loss – this unrealized potential – made me more upset than I care to admit.

This dish itself is like a homemade potato dumpling – mixed with this very special cheese and bites of bacon. I substituted the cheese, made the dumpling, and cried a bit as I ate it. It is very savory, and the bacon is much needed for texture and flavor. I had never had potato prepared this way before, but I liked it overall. It’s not something I would whip up any old night, but it was a new experience – the process of preparing it and the taste, texture and flavor.

Ingredient List

  • Potato
  • Flour
  • Salt
  • Bryndza
  • Bacon

Quick Quotes

S: ” Its not bad but I feel bad for Slovakia that this is their national dish. Its thoroughly underwhelming.”

T: “Wish I had the cheese! It really felt more ethnic than other dishes – I’ve never had anything like it.”

Trivial Trifles

  • The capital of Slovakia is Bratislava
  • The official language is Slovak
  • Some of the oldest archaeological artifacts have been found in Slovakia – some are early as 270,000 BC
  • The Slovak Republic and the Czech Republic have only been separated since 1993
Leave a Reply

