Buuz of Mongolia

Screen Shot 2016-07-22 at 2.01.23 PM.png

Dumplings: these doughy pockets of savory goodness are found all over the world. Variations are abundant, and I expect to run into a few more before this journey is over. This was, however, my first experience making homemade dumplings.

I was intimated by this recipe. Homemade dough of any kind can be temperamental, especially when you need to create beautiful, visually-pleasing creases. For the lack of experience I had, I was happy with my final product. For future endeavors, I would roll the dough as thinly as possible. The ratio of dough to meat, in this case, was favoring the dough significantly. This made for a rather heavy dumpling, especially when the insides included a rich ground lamb.

Speaking of lamb, this was my first occasion cooking with it. Ground lamb is not for the dieting, for its quite fatty. But where there’s fat, there’s flavor… so… you decide.

Ingredient List

For the Dough

  • Flour
  • Salt
  • Water

For the Filling

  • Ground lamb
  • Chopped onion
  • Scallions
  • Garlic
  • Coriander
  • Salt
  • Pepper

For the Sauce

  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • Hoisin sauce
  • Soy sauce
  • Sesame oil
  • Minced scallions
  • Ginger

Quick Quotes

S: “Not one of my favorite dishes. I am not a big fan of the lamb and the sauce flavor was overpowering. It was very interesting and definitely a foreign feel.”

T: “I thought the flavor was good, and they were fun to make. I can’t eat very many because they are filling and very doughy.”

Trivial Trifles

  • The capital of Mongolia is Ulaanbaatar (45% of the population lives there)
  • The official language is Mongolian
  • About 30% of the population are nomadic
  • Zud, a natural disaster specific to Mongolia, is related to severe winter weather and leads to theĀ famine of livestock, the threatening the livelihood of farmers, and national food security
Leave a Reply

