Kibbe of Solomon Islands

Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 4.20.12 PM.png

Oh, Kibbe. No meal has thus far invoked such a wide spectrum of emotions from me. It’s a meat pie made with ground beef, accompanied by pomegranate seeds, toasted pine nuts & walnuts, and onion, with a grainy crust of bulgar sandwiching the filling. The meat is primarily seasoned with all-spice. Intuition told me I wouldn’t like it for the combination of ingredients and the textural component. Initially, I was right.

This was partly due to the title. The words “meat pie” makes me grimace. The first time I cut a slice, I took several small bites with caution and minor disgust. Why, why… are there pomegranate seeds sitting in a pile of meat? But I finished my plate, and stuffed the leftovers in the fridge.

Over the next week, I picked slowly but surely at the pan of Kibbe. Each time it got a little easier, and by the last helping of Kibbe, I was beginning to enjoy it. I had gotten past the odd textural experience, and started to appreciate the uniqueness of the dish. I wouldn’t make the dish again, but I’m so glad I tried it!

IMG_2758.JPG

Ingredient list

  • Ground beef
  • All spice
  • onion
  • Pomegranate seeds
  • Pine nuts
  • Walnuts
  • Bulgar grain
  • Flour
  • Water

Quick Quotes

S: “Fantastically pedestrian. Memorably forgettable. About as sexy as watching Nascar with a scarecrow.”

T:”Very new to me – it took some time for me to get used to it. An experience!”

Trivial Trifles

  • The capital of Solomon Island is Honiara
  • The official language is English
  • It consists of 6 large islands and 0ver 900 smaller islands
  • Novelist Jack London visited the islands in 1908 on his boat Snark
  • The islands were named in 1568 by a Spanish explorer,  Álvaro de Mendaña, the first European to step foot there. He named them after the wealthy biblical King Solomon because he believed there were many riches on the islands
Leave a Reply

