Salt Cod & Green Figs of St. Lucia

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 4.29.38 PM.png

At this point in the journey, I can start to feel the experience behind me, supporting me. I’m moving out of that adolescence age, and into that teenager phase that can be filled with false confidence and sassiness. When we picked St. Lucia, I initially shrugged it off. An island? This’ll be simple… More chicken and rice, I expect. Wrong, you fool.

Salt cod. It is not cod, sprinkled with salt. That’s for inauthentic suckers. You can buy salt cod, somewhere, but I couldn’t find it. So I found a recipe for the homemade stuff.

I expect people who make homemade jerky would know already that salted fish, meat, whatever, is a process of salt drying out your meat/fillet of choice. Heck, this is how they preserved perishables before refrigeration existed. Dehydrating it for days, the salt will infuse itself into the meat to create a new texture and a satisfactory salty flavor. Salt cod is like this, and the whole process took over a week. If you go to the Recipe Links page, I list the Salt Cod recipe I used for this meal.

Another false sense of know-how I experienced from this dish was the term green figs. I was excited to cook with figs until… I learned green figs is actually code for “plantain” or “green banana”. After they are cooked, peeled, then cooked again, the golden flesh of the plantain is tender and edible.

The salt cod is worth trying. I did not add a sprinkle of salt to this dish, and indeed, the salt cod stood out to me. The inherent saltiness is different than seasoning the fillet fresh off the pan. Simply spiced with a bit of pepper, thyme, and parsley, the dish still tasted fantastic to me. You can add a cabbage or tomato salad as a side dish. I opted for some avocado slices. Thanks, St. Lucia, for delivering a tasty dish and yet another new experience in the kitchen!

Ingredient List

  • salt fish
  • green bananas
  • coconut or vegetable oil
  •  onion, coarsely chopped
  • sweet pepper, coarsely chopped
  • seasoning peppers, thinly sliced
  • chives, finely chopped
  • garlic cloves, grated
  • fresh thyme
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Parsley for garnish

Quick Quotes

S: “Intriguing combination. I would be interested in trying it with a more ripe and sweet plantain.”

T: “I didn’t like the plantains – but salt cod turned out well and made dish feel more authentic!”

Trivial Trifles

  • The capital of St. Lucia is Castries
  • The official language is English
  • The island was named by the French after St. Lucy of Syracuse, and is the only country in the world named after a woman
  • The French claimed the island as its own in 1635, but would be fought for by the French and British for hundreds of years
Leave a Reply

